Shared Photo Stream Question

I know photos on your default photo stream album start automatically deleting after 30 days on your iOS devices but is this the same with shared photo stream albums? If so, I don't see why anyone would use this service over Flickr or even Dropbox. I want to support Apple but I need to know that photos I share online will be preserved for as long as I want.