Pocket goes social with new Send to Friend sharing feature

14

A new update to Pocket overhauls the read-it-later service's social features with a more robust experience. While you could previously share articles to Facebook, Twitter, email, and so on, the new version allows you to send links to specific Pocket-using friends, who'll then be alerted of it within the app (or via a push notification) in addition to receiving an email. There's also a new share menu that displays the services or friends that you've most recently sent links to.

Pocket says that its users share links over email more than twice as often as doing so via social networks, so the aim was to improve that side of things in particular. The update comes one year after Pocket rebranded itself from its former identity as Read It Later; it's available for the Pocket apps on iOS, Android, Mac, and the web.

Pktblog_sendtofriend_v1_2

More from The Verge

Back to top ^
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new Verge username and password

As part of the new Verge launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to Verge going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5345_tracker