Elon Musk's most recent project, the Hyperloop public transportation system, has been a bit of a mystery thus far. Though Musk has said that he likely won't build the contraption, which is allegedly capable of transporting people from San Francisco to LA in a mere 30 minutes, the company will be making an announcement today at 5PM ET / 2PM PT to tell us more about what the Hyperloop is and hopefully how it actually functions. There's been a fair amount of speculation as to how the Hyperloop will work, with the strongest theories pointing to the idea that it is a vacuum tube that lets pods travel up to 600MPH between cities. We'll be live blogging the entire announcement as it happens so be sure follow along as all the news is made.

Update: Elon Musk has tweeted that the actual announcement will arrive slightly earlier, at 4:30 PM ET / 1:30PM PT. We'll still be following along with the press call to report any further details that will come from it.

Live blog of Elon Musk's Hyperloop announcement

Read this now: Here's how Elon Musk's Hyperloop might actually work