Using Facebook Connect to log in and access to my friends list

i've been coming to the site since it launched, using my FB account, but for the first time this evening, I was asked for access to my friends list. Any reason for the change? What are your plans with that info, because I really have no interest in sharing it. I finally ended up making an actual account (if the end goal was to annoy people into making a proper account, well done).

I guess it's annoying because -at least for me- you've kind of defeated the purpose of using Facebook authentication.