Impossible to stop a OneDrive sync? WTH?

I know this isn't a tech support forum, but I've been uploading a large amount of data to OneDrive in anticipation of the storage boost MS is prepping and along the way I've decided I'd rather not include one part of the data I'm uploading. Unfortunately, it appears that there is ZERO methods for cancelling an upload. Why the heck would they build it this way? I even tried unlinking my MS Account to my Surface Pro 2, using a local log-in, and when I re-attached the account it somehow remembered the files and is continuing the upload. Shouldn't there be basic "Cancel" functionality?