You wouldn’t need to if you had the original disc. If activation is stored on MS’s servers (and chances are it IS), then when you activate the copy on your box/account (by installing with the original disc) it will deactivate the copy on the previous owner/renter’s box/account.
Perhaps the fee is only charged for currently active installs? Like the disc comes with one “key” that will allow only one active install. You could de-authenticate installs if you hold the original disc. That way you could lend games to friends or buy a used game without having to pay an additional fee?
At least I hope that it would work like that anyway.