clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Apple rolling out new iPad on Friday to South Korea and 11 other countries

New, 18 comments

Apple has announced that it will be releasing its new iPad in South Korea and 11 other countries on Friday, April 20th; nine more countries will get the iPad the following week.

Verge Currents iPad
Verge Currents iPad

Americans, Europeans, and many others have already gotten their hands on the new iPad, and now Apple is bringing it to 21 more countries in the next few weeks. On Friday, April 20th, the iPad will arrive in South Korea, Brunei, Croatia, Cyprus, the Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Malaysia, Panama, St. Maarten, Uruguay, and Venezuela. April 27th will see another round of releases, as the iPad debuts in Colombia, Estonia, India, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, South Africa, and Thailand. The tablets will be sold both through Apple's online store and authorized resellers.

Apple's suggested retail prices are the same as what it announced last month, with 16GB Wi-Fi models starting at $499 and 16GB 4G models starting at $629. Apple's also making sure people know that its LTE isn't going to work in any of those countries: "4G LTE is supported only on AT&T and Verizon networks in the US and on Bell, Rogers and Telus networks in Canada." After some confusion in Australia, the UK, and Sweden, hopefully Apple won't end up having to offer any more refunds.