Skip to main content

Filed under:

The Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement: ACTA struggles to pass in Europe

Share this story

The Anti-Counterfeiting Trade Agreement (ACTA) is intended to prevent the flow of counterfeit and pirated goods between nations. The treaty was first signed in Tokyo on October 1, 2011 by the United States, Australia, Canada, Japan, South Korea, Singapore, New Zealand, and Morocco, before 22 of the 27 EU member states signed in January 2012. The agreement has since come under increased scrutiny, and after being panned by high-level EC politicians, is on the brink of failure. The European Union will make its final decision on ACTA in June, and you can follow the whole story here.