clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Internet pioneers win $1.5 million Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

New, 20 comments
queen elizabeth prize
queen elizabeth prize

Five engineers that were essential to the creation of the internet as we know it have had their endeavors recognized by the first ever Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering. The £1 million (roughly $1.51 million) prize was shared between Tim Berners-Lee, the inventor of the world wide web; Marc Andreessen, the co-author of Mosaic, the world's first true web browser; Bob Kahn and Vint Cerf, who developed the TCP and IP protocols that underpin the internet; and Louis Pouzin, whose research was a huge influence on Kahn and Cerf's work.

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering was founded to celebrate people for innovation that has been of "global benefit to humanity." Marc Andreesen, who is a multi-millionaire, says he'll donate his cut of the prize to worthy causes, such as funding students through scholarships. All five winners will head to London in June where they will be presented with the prize by Queen Elizabeth II.