clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

iPhone 6 announcement: start time, live blog, and streaming for Apple's event

New, 145 comments

Here's what to expect and where to watch Apple's big launch event

Follow along with our live blog right here!

Apple's September 9th event has been described as historic before it's even started. To match the great hype, the Cupertino company has booked a larger venue than usual and supplemented its capacity with a mysterious three-story structure. The elaborate buildup is for the launch of a new iPhone (or two), plus there's the widely anticipated announcement of a long-rumored iWatch and the tantalizing "wish we could say more" tagline from Apple itself.

The iPhone 6 is expected to come in two variants: a 4.7-inch model that would feature a sapphire glass display and a larger 5.5-inch version that may end up being released a few months after the first. Multiple iPhone 6 dummies and even one functional device have leaked onto the web, demonstrating a curvier back, sides, and front on the new, thinner iPhones. The power button appears to have moved from the top to the side of the handset for the first time.

More important than the hardware changes in the iPhone 6 will be the upgrade to Apple's iOS 8, the biggest update to the company's mobile operating system since the introduction of the App Store back in 2008. A bevy of changes and functionality improvements promise to turn the new handsets into your health data center, your remote control for home appliances, and even your mobile wallet for making purchases on the move.


A visual history of iOS

NFC wireless connectivity is just one of a number of radios and sensors expected to be built into the rumored iWatch. Much like the Android Wear smartwatches already on sale from the likes of LG and Motorola, the iWatch will make health tracking a priority, though that NFC connection — which is also expected to figure in the new iPhones — could make it a candidate for performing swift mobile payments as well.

To keep right up to the date with happenings at Apple's event, here are the best ways to watch, read, and learn about the company's announcements as they happen.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Berlin 7PM / Moscow: 9PM / Beijing: 1AM (Sept. 10) / Tokyo: 2AM (Sept. 10) / Sydney 3AM (Sept. 10).

Live blog: Tune in to The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Apple's live stream is available via a dedicated channel on the Apple TV set-top box or the Safari browser on OS X (10.6.8 and above) and iOS devices (iOS 6 and above).

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Post-event analysis: The Verge Live provides instant recap and analysis of all the news, brought to you by Chris Ziegler and Ross Miller.

Event previews

5 things to expect from Apple's big event

Everything we know so far about the iWatch

Here's what to look for in the iPhone 6

This is what the iWatch needs to do if Apple wants to win