clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Download a new Aphex Twin track before his EP drops tomorrow

New, 15 comments

A taste of Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt. 2

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Richard D. James, aka Aphex Twin, has cleared his SoundCloud entirely, except for one new track that surfaced today. The track appears to be a mix of the opening single on Aphex Twin's upcoming EP, Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt. 2, out tomorrow on Warp. "Diskhat ALL Prepared1mixed [snr2mix]" builds from a slow-burning industrial clatter, layering in a queasy bassline, slivers of ominous chimes, and nihilistically chopped percussion.

Last year's Syro was Aphex Twin's first release since 2001's Drukqs, but now it's starting to feel like the hiatus is definitively over. Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt. 2 comes just a few months after Syro, and contains 13 new tracks (even if a few of them are under 30 seconds — see the full tracklist below).

If the download above isn't enough Aphex for you, check out our everything-RDJ Verge playlist.


Computer Controlled Acoustic Instruments Pt. 2 tracklist:

01. diskhat ALL prepared1mixed 13 (5:22)
02. snar2 (0:19)
03. diskhat1 (2:26)
04. piano un1 arpej (0:50)
05. DISKPREPT4 (1:52)
06. hat 2b 2012b (1:25)
07. disk aud1_12 (0:08)
08. 0035 1-Audio (0:26)
09. disk prep calrec2 barn dance [slo] (4:22)
10. DISKPREPT1 (3:29)
11. diskhat2 (0:38)
12. piano un10 it happened (1:48)
13. hat5c 0001 rec-4 (4:46)