Skip to main content

Animal Collective is releasing new album Painting With on February 19th

Animal Collective is releasing new album Painting With on February 19th


Lead single 'FloriDada' is available now

Share this story

Baltimore's foremost musical mad scientists are back. Animal Collective announced new album Painting With this morning, the band's first LP since 2012's Centipede Hz; it'll be released on February 19th, 2016 through Domino. "FloriDada" is the album's opener and lead single, and it's available now. The album's announcement is coming on the heels of its premiere in an unusual location over the holiday weekend: the band streamed it throughout Baltimore-Washington International Airport for a few hours the night before Thanksgiving and hinted at the release of "FloriDada."

Animal Collective have charted a strange, unpredictable course through music in the 15 years since debut Spirit They've Gone, Spirit They've Vanished, wandering from muddy noise and wispy folk to festival-ready rock. 2004's childish, vocal-centric Sung Tongs and lush, radiant 2009 LP Merriweather Post Pavilion are generally considered the band's high water marks, and both albums had a palpable influence on the sound of indie music in the years immediately following their release. Centipede Hz was a chaotic, rhythm-heavy record, and "FloriDada" sounds like it's walking the band back to Merriweather Post Pavilion's swirling, playful pop-psych.

Here's Painting With's tracklist:

1. "FloriDada"

2. "Hocus Pocus"

3. "Vertical"

4. "Lying in the Grass"

5. "The Burglars"

6. "Natural Selection"

7. "Bagels in Kiev"

8. "On Delay"

9. "Spilling Guts"

10. "Summing the Wretch"

11. "Golden Gal"

12. "Recycling"