clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Watch three astronauts launch to the International Space Station at 6:03AM ET

Three new astronauts will arrive at the International Space Station on Tuesday, taking the place of three crew members who just departed the orbiting lab last week. Russian cosmonaut Yuri Malenchenko, NASA astronaut Tim Kopra, and British astronaut Tim Peake of the European Space Agency will launch aboard a Soyuz rocket from Kazakhstan at 6:03AM ET. NASA coverage of the event is scheduled to begin at 5AM ET.

The trip to the ISS should last about six hours after liftoff. When the trio arrives, they will join the remaining three astronauts on the station as part of Expedition 46. Malenchenko, Kopra, and Peake are slated to stay on the station for up to six months. Peake is making history with this trip too, as he is the first Briton to travel to the International Space Station.

Check back here Tuesday morning to watch the launch.