clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Vergecast, live today at 4:30PM ET!

New, 5 comments

As a teenager, I was certain Sony would become the real world equivalent of Shinra Corporation from Final Fantasy VII, a monolithic techno-empire that consumed money and evacuated video game consoles and portable music players. It would grow tendrils in the space, military, and energy sectors, and would look good doing it.

Sony never became Shinra (though a real Shinra, in an usual turn of events, does technically exist in 2015).

On today's episode of The Vergecast, we'll talk about the shrinking corner of the tech world that Sony occupies. We'll also discuss the company that has usurped Sony place in terms of design and pop culture relevance: Apple.

We'll be live at 4:30PM ET / 1:30PM PT / 9:30PM GMT via the live stream embed above. Missed the live show? Watch the replay embed, or download the audio version on iTunes. If you enjoy the show, we'd love it if you gave us five stars.