clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Apple Watch and MacBook event: start time, live blog, and where to stream

New, 67 comments

Here's what to expect and where to watch Apple's big event

Apple's March 9th event will provide a close look at the Apple Watch. After its announcement at Apple's September event, the Apple Watch served as the fire from which a thousand hot takes were lit. Now, the company is expected to announce the finer details pertaining to how the device actually works, along with prices for the various models. The Apple Watch is about to get real.

Update: Read our Apple Watch review.

Plenty of questions remained after the Apple Watch announcement. Apple's team will likely spend substantial time explaining how the device works and why smartphone owners should spend money on another screen. Expect an emphasis on app demonstrations, both by Apple and third-party developers, meant to show the hardware's potential. If you're into tech conference bingo, fill your play cards with phrases like "health and wellness," "indie games," "New York Times," "live sports scores," "discrete notifications," and "hands-free updates."

Keep your eyes peeled for a Retina MacBook Air announcement, too. According to The Wall Street Journal, the unannounced laptop will be available soon. The new Air is believed to be a 12-inch model, putting it right in the middle of the current 11- and 13-inch options. The Retina MacBook Air may be powered by Intel's new Broadwell processors and might ditch the few remaining ports on the current generation of MacBook Airs.

As for surprises, we might see a 4K-enabled Apple TV and a partnership with HBO's new standalone service. Or maybe, just maybe, Apple will bring back the Newton brand.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 5PM / Berlin: 6PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (March 10) / Tokyo: 2AM (March 10th) / Sydney: 4AM (March 10th).

Live blog: Tune in to The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Apple's live stream is available via a dedicated channel on the Apple TV set-top box (6.2 or later) or the Safari browser on OS X (10.6.8 and above) and iOS devices (iOS 6 and above). You can also watch on Apple.com/live.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Post-event analysis: The Verge Live provides instant recap and analysis of all the news, featuring Chris Ziegler and Ross Miller.

Event previews

6 things to expect from Apple’s Watch event on Monday

Ahead of Monday's event, here's what we already know about the Apple Watch

Apple's secret lab where Facebook and BMW build Watch apps

This website lets you customize the Apple Watch of your dreams

What is a smartwatch?