clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Google I/O 2015: Live stream, start time, schedule, and more for Day 2

New, 4 comments

Here's what to expect and where to watch the second day of Google's big event

Yesterday Google I/O poured announcements on us the way I pour syrup on a steaming stack of flapjacks: Android M will optimize the platform while adding a number of new services; Google Cardboard will make VR more accessible — even for iPhone owners; and Android Pay will try to do what Google Wallet couldn't, get people to pay for toilet paper and taxi rides with their smartphones. Plus, Google announced Now on Tap, a search system that our own Dieter Bohn describes as "fast, accurate, creepy, and great."

Did I mention the best news? That the director of the greatest action film franchise premiered his new short? Because he did. Okay, maybe Google Photo was better news. So much happened, that it might just be easier to read this recap of the 12 most important announcements.

What's happening today? Expect to learn more about the work of Google's Advanced Technology and Projects group (ATAP). The team has been cracking on Project Ara, wearables, and that Justin Lin short presented in "full 360 with 3D soundsphere" — their words, not mine. Also expect to hear new details on Project Tango, Google's mobile 3D tracking and perception platform.

Follow along with our live blog right here!

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 9:00AM / New York: 12:00PM / London: 5:30PM / Berlin 6:00PM / Moscow: 7:00PM / Beijing: 12:00AM (May 30th) / Tokyo: 1:00AM (May 30th) / Sydney 2:00AM (May 30th).

Live blog: Tune in to The Verge live blog or up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Keynote live streaming: Google's live stream is available via the company's own website.

Sessions live streaming: You can also watch sessions throughout the two-day event right here. Here are a couple sessions we recommend, both listed in PST. 11AM - 12PM: Designing for Virtual Reality. 3PM - 4PM: Democratizing Education.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

The 12 most important announcements from Google I/O 2015

Now on Tap is the coolest Android feature in a long time

I just tried Google's new Cardboard with my iPhone

Android M adds USB-C support, Doze mode for extending battery life

Google's ambitious Inbox app is now available to everyone