Skip to main content

WWDC 2015: Live stream, start time, and schedule for Apple’s big event

WWDC 2015: Live stream, start time, and schedule for Apple’s big event

/

iOS 9, OSX 10.11, and Apple's music-streaming service should make appearances

Share this story

I don't care if you're at the office, I want you to shout the following like it's 1994 and you're Hank Williams Jr.: Are you ready for some software? It's a WWDC party! We'll see iOS9 and OSX 10.11! Let's get this show started!

How do you feel? Energized? Good, try to maintain that spirit, because this show will probably be a cool down from the past few months of flashy Apple Watch events. At WWDC 2015, optimization seems to be the name of the game. We expect iOS 9 to be a smoother, easier-to-use experience with a handful of catchy tweaks — split-screen apps would be nice. OS X 10.11 will likely follow a similar path, squashing bugs and other pesky flaws of Yosemite.

Maybe iOS will get a Google Now-style feature, or OS X will receive a faster, smarter version of Siri. But our best guess is the breakout of the presentation will be Apple's music-streaming service. According to The Wall Street Journal, this reworked version of Beats Music is all but guaranteed to appear.

Follow along with our live blog right here!

We can't rule out new hardware like an updated Mac Pro, however it's unlikely the company will showcase the revised Apple TV. According to reports from Recode and The New York Times respectively, neither Apple's internet TV service nor the new Apple TV will appear. According to the Times, the latter was still planned to appear "as recently as mid-May," before plans changed.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10:00AM / New York: 1:00PM / London: 6:00PM / Berlin 7:00PM / Moscow: 8:00PM / Beijing: 1:00AM (June 9th) / Tokyo: 2:00AM (June 9th) / Sydney 3:00AM (June 9th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Apple's live stream is available via a dedicated channel on the Apple TV set-top box or the Safari browser on OS X (10.8.5 and above) and iOS devices (iOS 6 and above).

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

12 things to expect from Apple's 2015 Worldwide Developers Conference
Apple's internet TV service won't be unveiled at WWDC
Apple’s streaming service will be announced next week, claims report