clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Star Wars Comic-Con panel: start time, live blog, and what to expect

There will be no bigger event at Comic-Con than today's panel for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. With the film less than six months away, it's Lucasfilm's opportunity to ratchet up the deafening roar of fandom to an even greater decibel level, and director J.J. Abrams, producer Kathleen Kennedy, and writer Lawrence Kasdan are all scheduled to attend. The big question is who the promised "special guests" are going to be, and what they'll reveal.

While the bulk of the new cast showed up earlier this year at Star Wars Celebration, there's still a number of actors that would get the Hall H crowd excited. Chief among them, of course, is Han Solo himself, Harrison Ford. Other actors that haven't appeared yet to talk to the faithful are Adam Driver (who plays the villainous — we think? — Kylo Ren), Andy Serkis (who plays someone named Supreme Leader Snoke), Game of Thrones' Gwendoline Christie (the chrometrooper Captain Phasma), and Ex Machina's Domhnall Gleeson, whose name hasn't even been released yet. And while early indications are that Abrams won't be showing off new footage or trailers, there's plenty of other Star Wars news to discuss.

The most significant recent development has been the news that Phil Lord and Christopher Miller (The Lego Movie) will be directing a film about a young Han Solo. A title reveal for that movie wouldn't be out of the question, particularly if Ford is present, nor would it be bad timing for Lucasfilm to bring out Gareth Edwards to discuss the Star Wars Anthology film Rogue One. A teaser for Rogue One was shown off during Star Wars Celebration, and a Comic-Con replay would be a great way to get audiences excited not just for what's coming this December, but for what's ahead as well.

How to follow

Starting time: San Diego: 5:30PM / New York: 8:30PM / London: 1:30AM (July 11th) / Berlin 2:30AM (July 11th) / Moscow: 3:30AM (July 11th) / Beijing: 8:30AM (July 11th) / Tokyo: 9:30AM (July 11th) / Sydney 10:30AM (July 11th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from Hall H.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Comic-Con page: Bookmark our Comic-Con page for all the important news straight from San Diego.

Event previews

Who will win San Diego Comic-Con 2015?

SDCC 2015 schedule: the biggest events to watch out for


More Star Wars: The year Star Wars took over E3