clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Joanna Newsom announces new album for October, releases music video today

Divers will become the first new album from Joanna Newsom in half a decade when it's released via Drag City on October 23rd. The musician followed 2010's Have One on Me with appearances in television shows like Portlandia and films like Paul Thomas Anderson's Inherent Vice.

The announcement comes with a music video (above) directed by Anderson and a track list (below). At 11 songs, Divers appear to be more compact than Newsom's previous album, which spread across 18 songs and two discs. Then again, "Sopakanikan" is 5 minutes long alone.

If you don't mind, I'm going to watch this video on loop for the remainder of the day. Newsom takes a dreamy stroll through the neighborhood in which I lived for the past decade, and I'm feeling quite nostalgic. If you ever find yourself on the corner at the end of the video, be sure to visit Rockmeisha, the secret best izakaya in Greenwich Village. I like to think that's where Newsom is heading as she skips into the night.

01 Anecdotes
02 Sapokanikan
03 Leaving the City
04 Goose Eggs
05 Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
06 The Things I Say
07 Divers
08 Same Old Man
09 You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10 A Pin-Light Bent
11 Time, As a Symptom