Skip to main content

Dr. Dre's first new album in 16 years is coming out August 7th

Dr. Dre's first new album in 16 years is coming out August 7th

Share this story

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Chelsea Lauren/Getty Images

Dr. Dre is finally giving his fans something new to listen to. The music producer, Apple executive, and N.W.A. rapper announced yesterday that he's releasing a new album on Friday, August 7th. It's called Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre, and it's Dre's first proper album since 1999's 2001.

"I was leaving the set, going to the studio, and I felt myself just being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album," Dre said on Saturday during his weekly Beats 1 radio show, "The Pharmacy." "I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished. It’s an ‘inspired-by’ album, it’s inspired by Straight Outta Compton," the new N.W.A. biopic coming out this month. The album will be exclusive to iTunes and Apple Music.

The announcement also marks the official death of Dre's long-in-the-works album, Detox, which was originally planned for release in 2011. "I didn't like it," Dre said on his radio show, adding "The record, it just wasn't good. … I worked my ass off on it, and I don't think I did a good enough job ... I just wasn’t feeling it."

Check out the full track list and album art for Compton below.

compton dr dre album art

1. Intro

2. Talk About It [ft. King Mez & Justus]

3. Genocide [ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay]

4. It's All on Me [ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid]

5. All in a Day's Work [ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius]

6. Darkside/Gone [ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar]

7. Loose Cannons [ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um]

8. Issues [ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak]

9. Deep Water [ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus]

10. One Shot One Kill [ft. Snoop Dogg]

11. Just Another Day [ft. Asia Bryant]

12. For the Love of Money [ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor]

13. Satisfaction [ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez]

14. Animals [ft. Anderson Paak]

15. Medicine Mane [ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak]

16. Talking to My Diary

Verge Video: What it takes to become a DJ