clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Google Nexus event: start time, live blog, and streaming for today’s announcement

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

As summer turns to autumn, the annual dance of the smartphone announcements distracts us from the menial midday hours at the office. Samsung and Apple and Sony and Motorola: each has entertained lovers of smartphones with their own spin on similar routines. With the leaves just beginning to turn outside our windows, the final act is set to begin. Google will take the stage to introduce its slate of new Nexus phones — and a few other gizmos, too.

Read next: The Nexus 6P review and Nexus 5X review.

The Nexus 5X is rumored to have the now-expected features of a new smartphone, like a bigger display, better camera, faster processor, and a fingerprint sensor, but the most interesting inclusion could be a USB Type-C connector. We expect the Nexus 6P to be quite different than the Nexus 6, starting with a fresh, new design and a smaller display, bucking the "bigger is better" trend. Both phones will flaunt the latest version of Android, dubbed Marshmallow back in May. Marshmallow should arrive alongside the phones' yet-to-be-announced launch dates, if not sooner.

FOLLOW ALONG WITH OUR LIVE BLOG RIGHT HERE!

We should see a new Chromecast, according to 9to5Google, but we might also see Chromecast Audio, a second device entirely focused on music, podcasts, and radio. We won't have to wait long for official details.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 9:00AM / New York: 12:00PM / London: 5:00PM / Berlin 6:00PM / Moscow: 7:00PM / Beijing: 12:00AM (September 30th) / Tokyo: 1:00AM (September 30th) / Sydney 2:00AM (September 30th)

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Google's live stream is available via YouTube.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

Google Nexus announcement: 5 things to expect at Tuesday's event

Nexus 6P will have a huge battery and metal unibody design, leaked slides confirm

Subscribe to What's Tech? on iTunes, listen on SoundCloud, or subscribe via RSS. And be sure to follow us on Twitter. You can also find the entire collection of What's Tech? stories right here on the The Verge Dot Com.


Google Pixel C tablet