clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

iPhone 6S announcement: start time, live blog, and streaming for Apple’s event

New, 44 comments

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Today's Apple event is likely to emphasize the power of polish. Patient folks who have waited for the refined updates to Apple's latest hardware are likely to be rewarded. Refined updates of the iPhone, Apple TV, and iPad, each with a bit more power and a handful of novel features, have been rumored to make an appearance.

Read next: The iPhone 6s review.

We should learn about the iPhone 6S and iPhone 6S Plus. They're likely to look the same as their predecessors, but with faster processors, an improved camera, and Force Touch, the haptic feedback already part of newer MacBook trackpads and the Apple Watch.

We're hesitant to say anything, but this will probably be the year Apple updates the Apple TV. The Apple TV has been rumored for previous Apple events, only to be a no-show, but all signs point to the new Apple TV, now with a Siri integrated remote, showing up on stage. The rumored price tag is somewhere between $149 and $199, a significant bump above the $69 asking price for the current model. Perhaps Apple will show the long-rumored Apple TV video game controller.

FOLLOW ALONG WITH OUR LIVE BLOG RIGHT HERE!

Predictions are hazier the deeper we look into the crystal ball. The rumored iPad Pro — possibly larger, more powerful, and stylus-friendly than those currently available — could steal the spotlight. We have to imagine Apple will have something to say about Apple Music, which has been taking a critical thumping in recent weeks. Maybe it's time for new watch bands? And what about a video streaming service? Would Apple launch hardware without a flashy subscription service to justify the investment? We'll have answers soon!

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10:00AM / New York: 1:00PM / London: 6:00PM / Berlin 7:00PM / Moscow: 8:00PM / Beijing: 1:00AM (September 10th) / Tokyo: 2:00AM (September 10th) / Sydney 3:00AM (September 10th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live streaming: Apple's live stream is available via a dedicated channel on the Apple TV set-top box or the Safari browser on OS X (10.8.5 and above) and iOS devices (iOS 6 and above).

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

Apple’s iPhone 6S announcement: what to expect

Apple TV's big plan for video games may be too little, too late

iPhone rumors: everything we think we know about the new Apple iPhone 6S

The next Apple TV will reportedly be more powerful, but it won't have 4K

Subscribe to What's Tech? on iTunes, listen on SoundCloud, or subscribe via RSS. And be sure to follow us on Twitter. You can also find the entire collection of What's Tech? stories right here on the The Verge Dot Com.

Apple Event: iPad Pro hands on | Check out The Verge on YouTube