clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Apple Pay is now available in ten countries after Russia launch

Mobile payment service launches in Russia with two partners

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Apple launched Apple Pay in Russia today, continuing the international expansion of its contactless payment system. The service is available at first to Sberbank and Mastercard clients, according to the Tass Russian news agency, which cited a statement published on Sberbank's website.

With today's expansion, Apple Pay is now available in 10 countries since launching in 2014, including the US, UKChinaAustralia, and Canada. Samsung's competing service, Samsung Pay, launched in Russia last month, and is available in nine countries. Google's Android Pay, which launched in the US in 2015, has expanded to the UK, Australia, and Singapore, and will soon be available on the mobile web, according to a recent blog post. Apple Pay began rolling out across the web last month, with the release of iOS 10 and macOS Sierra.