clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Google’s new Trusted Contacts app lets you share your location during emergencies

New, 8 comments

It’s basically Google Latitude, three years later

Google

When Google discontinued Latitude in 2013, it never truly made a replacement for its version of iOS’s Find My Friend. With Trusted Contacts, Google’s bringing location tracking back so you can communicate with and locate loved ones in cases of emergency.

Trusted Contacts lets you add people with whom you want to share your whereabouts, whether it’s your GPS location or if you’re online. During a crisis, friends and family members can request your status to see if you’re safe, and you can respond with your location to let them know you’re okay, or deny the request. If you do not respond within five minutes, the app will automatically broadcast your location to the contact, or your last known location if your phone is offline.

Google

The app can also be used as a virtual companion — you can share your commute with a friend so they can watch to see that you’ve made it to your final destination. When you get to your location, push the button at the top of your screen or on the lock screen to end sharing.

Although Trusted Contacts is designed to be a personal safety app, it’s also rife with potential misuses. Jealous boyfriends, abusive spouses, or nosey friends can keep their eyes on your whereabouts at all times if you leave the app passively running in the background, so it’s up to you to carefully choose who you want keeping track of your location.

Trusted Contacts is free to download today on Android.