clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Samsung Galaxy S7 event: start time, live stream, and watch in VR

New, 16 comments

Watch in VR and pretend you're in Barcelona

Samsung is ready to unveil two new phones at Mobile World Congress today. At its Unpacked event in Barcelona, Samsung is expected to launch the Galaxy S7 and Galaxy S7 Edge. We’ve seen both devices from every angle thanks to a variety of leaks over the past few weeks, but today we’re expecting to hear every new feature of Samsung’s latest flagship smartphones.

Samsung is making use of VR this time around, and if you own a Gear VR or Google Cardboard you’ll be able to choose viewing angles of the auditorium, and left, right, or center of the stage. If you don't own a VR headset (or Google Cardboard) you can even download the iOS or Android app and watch the stream by moving your phone around to access the full 360 degree effect. The Verge will be live blogging every second, so follow along for all the details.

How to watch

Start time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Barcelona: 7PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (Monday) / Tokyo: 2AM (Monday) / Sydney: 3AM (Monday)

Live stream: Samsung will be broadcasting video of the event on YouTube.

Live blog: We'll be in Barcelona posting updates and photos from the event as they come in. Follow along for the fastest updates around.

VR stream (Gear VR): Open the Oculus Store on your compatible Samsung Galaxy phone and download the Unpacked 360 View app.

VR stream (Google Cardboard): Download and install the Unpacked 360 view app from Google Play or the App Store

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter to catch all our stories right as they've published.


Check out more from Mobile World Congress, including the debut of Samsung's S7 and S7 Edge: