clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Tesla Model 3 preorders will begin at 7:30PM PT, an hour earlier than planned

New, 18 comments
Joe Raedle/Getty Images

Due to significant demand, Tesla will begin taking online orders for its upcoming Model 3 electric car an hour earlier than planned. Orders will begin at Tesla.com at 7:30PM PT / 10:30PM ET this evening, in order to ensure that Tesla's servers aren't overloaded.

Update 7:30PM PT: Preorders for the Tesla Model 3 are now live.

Tesla Model 3 buyers have been able to go to their local Tesla dealership to place an order for the Model 3 for a $1,000 deposit since this morning, leading to long lines at locations around the world. With that much demand, it's possible that Tesla's own website — where the company will also be live-streaming the Model 3 announcement beginning at 8:30PM PT / 11:30PM ET — could buckle under heavy demand.

Tesla CEO Elon Musk also announced via Twitter that customers will only be able to order two Model 3 cars.

Tune in tonight for our coverage from the unveiling. You'll also be able to watch the event on Tesla's website.