Tinder is encouraging users to share profiles they come across with friends. The company announced today that it's testing a button that lets users text a link to a profile, instead of grabbing a screenshot. The link expires after five clicks or 72 hours. Once the text is sent, the person clicking through can swipe left or right on that profile, too, so long as they have the app installed. Users can opt out of the share button feature in their settings.
The company might also be experimenting with sharing through other messaging channels, like WhatsApp, according to MEL Magazine. Tinder imagines people will share profiles in an effort to play matchmaker for their friends, which could maybe happen? The internet already has plenty of websites dedicated to making fun of or shaming unsuspecting Tinder users through screenshots, though, so in reality, the button will probably end up being used more for sharing bizarre profiles and pointing out super attractive people — at least if other people use screenshots like my friends do.