clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Google I/O 2016: Keynote, live stream, and schedule

New, 19 comments

Google I/O is an annual developer conference at which the company announces new hardware and software, hosts educational sessions pertaining to its various products and services, and broadly tries to build hype and warm feelings in the hearts of creators and fans who watch online.

The event begins with a keynote. This year, the host will be Google CEO Sundar Pichai. We expect him and his colleagues to make a number of announcements, like giving an official name to its new mobile operating systemrevealing more of Google's plans for augmented and virtual reality, and detailing how Android would work on the desktop.

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Berlin 7PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (May 19th) / Tokyo: 2AM (May 19th) / Sydney 3AM (May 19th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Keynote live-streaming: Google's live stream is available via the company's own website.

Sessions live-streaming schedule: You can also watch sessions throughout the two-day event right here.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

8 things to expect from Google's biggest event of the year

With its eyes on VR and indoor mapping, Google will expand Project Tango next week

With its new keyboard, Google has colonized every major function of my iPhone

Google's secret VR weapon is Project Tango


Google Home: Alexa's competition