clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How to watch all the Star Wars Celebration panels, news, and interviews

New, 3 comments

As you may have heard, people really like Star Wars — and ground zero for that hype is the annual Star Wars Celebration convention. This year’s event kicks off in London on Friday, July 15th with a murderer’s row of filmmakers, writers, actors, and behind-the-scenes personnel talking about the work creating the franchise. We're expecting plenty of news and some new footage along the way, and thankfully you’ll be able to watch almost the entire thing live-streamed on the Star Wars website.

It kicks off Friday morning at 6AM ET / 3AM PT, with Mark Hamill discussing his life as Luke Skywalker, before Rogue One director Gareth Edwards takes the stage at 11AM ET / 8AM PT to discuss his upcoming film (I'm crossing my fingers for a look at Darth Vader's return). Saturday will feature an assortment of different events, including discussions about Star Wars Rebels (11AM ET / 8AM PT) and insights from Industrial Light & Magic’s xLab virtual reality team (1PM ET / 11AM PT). On Sunday at 6AM ET / 3AM PT Carrie Fisher will discuss her career, and at 7AM ET / 4AM PT the Lucasfilm Story Group — the creative brain trust in charge of orchestrating the entire universe — will reveal some of its secrets. But perhaps the most exciting panel of all is not expected to be streamed online.

That’s a Sunday discussion with Episode VIII writer-director Rian Johnson and the directors of the young Han Solo movie, Phil Lord and Christopher Miller. Fortunately our own James Vincent will be on the ground in London to cover the panel and the rest of the show as it happens. Stay tuned to The Verge for coverage throughout the weekend, and check out the StarWars.com live stream schedule below.

Friday, July 15th

An Hour With Mark Hamill
11:30AM BST / 6AM ET / 3AM PT

Ahsoka's Untold Tales
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

ILM Presents: Star Wars Archeology
2PM BST / 9AM ET / 6AM PT

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story panel with Gareth Edwards
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT

Saturday, July 16th

Droids of The Force Awakens
10:15AM BST / 5:15AM ET / 2:15AM PT

The Creatures, Droids & Aliens of Star Wars: The Force Awakens
12PM BST / 7AM ET / 4AM PT

Keeping Up With The Fetts
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

Anthony Daniels, Without Protocol
2PM BST / 9AM ET / 6AM PT

Star Wars Rebels Season 3
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT

Marvel's Star Wars Comic Books
5PM BST / 12AM ET / 9AM PT

Meet ILMxLab: The Future of Immersive Entertainment
6PM BST / 1PM ET / 10AM PT

The Minds Behind EA's Star Wars Games
7PM BST / 2PM ET / 11AM PT

Sunday, July 17th

2016 Star Wars Fan Film Awards Ceremony
10:15AM BST / 5:15AM ET / 2:15AM PT

Carrie Fisher: The Princess Diaries
11AM BST / 6AM ET / 3AM PT

Lucasfilm Story Group: The Art of Storytelling 
12PM BST / 7AM ET / 4AM PT

Ray Park Unleashed
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

Closing Ceremony
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT


Building the ultimate Star Wars lightsaber