clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How to watch Apple's iPhone event: start time, live blog, and streaming

New, 17 comments

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Is there anything as sweet as the beginning of fall? Starbucks reintroduces the Pumpkin Spice Latte, the Kansas City Chiefs still have a shot at the playoffs, and Apple announces another iPhone. Today we learn what's next from the technology giant, with rumors pointing to the iPhone 7 and new variations on the Apple Watch.

The iPhone 7, or whatever Apple chooses to call the latest variation of its smartphone, may be a modest update. A better battery, an improved Touch ID button, a simpler antenna, and a faster processor are likely to be packed into the familiar iPhone design, while the iPhone 7 Plus may also get a dual-lens camera. The latter upgrade could improve image quality and low-light performance, and the two lenses could also allow the smartphone to use visual depth information for a number of novel photographic tricks.

The iPhone 7 is expected to have one less-than-appealing tweak: it may be the first Apple smartphone to ditch the traditional headphone jack. Though perhaps the bigger concern for potential iPhone 7 owners is the early word on the iPhone 8. The next generation smartphone is unlikely to be mentioned at the event, but rumors about its flashy upgrades loom over its unreleased predecessor.

Read next: Our iPhone 7 and 7 Plus review

Some reports speculate that the new device will have built-in GPS, so it will be able to track runs and other activities more accurately when it's not connected to an iPhone. The Apple Watch 2 is also rumored to feature a larger battery, possibly to power this addition.

FOLLOW ALONG WITH OUR LIVE BLOG RIGHT HERE!

There's a small chance the revised MacBook Pro, which is rumored to have a "touchscreen strip," will appear. Though last month Bloomberg reported the revamped laptop will appear at a later date. So don't get your hopes too high. Then again, if you just bought a new computer for school, it may feel nice knowing the hardware isn't already outdated.

Of course Apple may surprise everyone with something entirely new and unexpected. Will we finally see a new Apple TV, a discrete Apple gaming system, or simply an official controller for Apple's mobile devices? Don't count on it, but feel free to dream, just as I dream of this year's Kansas City Chiefs winning the Super Bowl as I take comfort in my sweet pumpkin-flavored coffee. Ah, the joys of fall!

How to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / London: 6PM / Berlin 7PM / Moscow: 8PM / Beijing: 1AM (September 8th) / Tokyo: 2AM (September 8th) / Sydney 3AM (September 8th).

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live stream: Apple's live stream is available via a dedicated channel on the Apple TV set-top box or the Safari browser on OS X (10.8.5 and above) and iOS devices (iOS 7 and above). Windows 10 users can watch in the Microsoft Edge browser.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Event previews

Apple's iPhone 7 announcement: what to expect

Let's overanalyze the Apple event invite

iPhone 7 rumored to include pressure-sensitive home button

The iPhone 7 had better be spectacular

Apple said to have a curved iPhone in 2017, just like Samsung

Subscribe to What's Tech? on iTunes, listen on SoundCloud, or subscribe via RSS. And be sure to follow us on Twitter. You can also find the entire collection of What's Tech? stories right here on the The Verge Dot Com.


Watch Tim Cook do Carpool Karaoke with James Corden

Apple Event: Check out The Verge on YouTube