clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Google Pixel 2 event: start time, live stream, and live blog

New, 17 comments

We’re a few hours away from Google’s big hardware event, where the company is expected to release a whole new slate of devices, including new Pixel 2 and Pixel 2 XL smartphones, along with a fancy new Chromebook, a miniature Google Home, a new Daydream headset, and possibly some surprises that haven’t leaked out yet.

On the smartphone front, the company is rumored to release upgraded versions of the Pixel smartphone, which took the mobile world by storm last year as the first Android phones that Google actually designed and put its own branding on. Now, we’ll see what a year’s worth of experience and user feedback mean for the company’s sophomore smartphones. The two devices are said to offer improved cameras, water resistance, and — for the Pixel 2 XL, at least — a new, bezel-free design similar to the Galaxy S8.

But Google isn’t rumored to just be announcing phones. The company seems to be working on updates to almost its entire hardware lineup. There’s purportedly a Pixelbook set to be announced, the successor to Google’s Chromebook Pixel that could set a high bar for Chromebooks (albeit at a rumored $1,000+ price point).

There are leaks for a new Google Home Mini — what could be to the Amazon Echo Dot what the full-size Google Home is to the Echo — and an updated Daydream VR headset, too.

As always, The Verge will be on the ground in San Francisco to bring you all the latest news as it happens. Here’s how you can follow along:

Where to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 9AM / New York: 12PM / London: 5PM / Berlin: 6PM / Moscow: 7PM / New Delhi: 9:30PM / Beijing: 12AM (October 5th) / Tokyo: 1AM (October 5th) / Sydney: 3AM (October 5th)

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue.

Live stream: Google’s live stream is available on YouTube.

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge.

Live updates: Today’s @Verge Instagram Story will have live video updates from our team on the ground at the event.