Skip to main content

YouTube TV continues expansion, now available in 80 ‘metro areas’

YouTube TV continues expansion, now available in 80 ‘metro areas’


Green Bay and Rochester, you just made the list

Share this story

Photo by James Bareham / The Verge

YouTube today announced that its YouTube TV subscription service is now available in 34 additional markets and covers 80 metro areas in total. The $35-per-month streaming TV service offers an unlimited cloud DVR and live programming from over 40 channels (including the “big four” networks of ABC, CBS, Fox, and NBC).

Those broadcast networks are usually the biggest hurdle that slows expansion for YouTube TV and its competitors Sling TV, DirecTV Now, PlayStation Vue, and Hulu’s live TV service. They require companies to reach agreements with various affiliates in different cities. Bringing cable channels on board is a simpler process, though YouTube TV has so far failed to reach an agreement to carry Viacom networks. So the service doesn’t include Comedy Central, MTV, Nickelodeon, and other channels. (Hulu and PlayStation Vue are also without Viacom content.) Six user profiles are included with each YouTube TV account, and the service allows for three simultaneous streams.

The company says customers can expect YouTube TV apps for Apple TV and Roku streaming boxes “soon,” but has declined to reveal specific launch dates. YouTube TV is the only major internet TV service absent from those platforms, though it does already support AirPlay from an iOS device to Apple TV.

You can see the new YouTube TV service areas highlighted in the GIF above. But becase I’m a good, giving person, I’ve also done the work and written them out for you. Here’s the entire list of YouTube TV markets, with today’s latest additions in bold:

  • Albany
  • Albuquerque
  • Atlanta
  • Austin
  • Baltimare
  • Baton Rouge
  • Birmingham
  • Buffalo
  • Boston
  • Charlotte
  • Chattanooga
  • Chicago
  • Cincinnati
  • Cleveland
  • Columbus
  • Colorado Springs
  • Cedar Rapids
  • Dallas/Fort Worth
  • Denver
  • Detroit
  • Des Moines
  • Flint
  • Fresno
  • Ft. Myers
  • Ft. Smith
  • Green Bay
  • Greensboro
  • Greenville/Spartanburg/Asheville
  • Harrisburg
  • Hartford
  • Houston
  • Huntsville-Decatur
  • Indianapolis
  • Jacksonville
  • Jackson, MS
  • Kansas City
  • Knoxville
  • Las Vegas
  • Los Angeles
  • Little Rock
  • Louisville
  • Madison
  • Memphis
  • Miami/Fort Lauderdale
  • Milwaukee
  • Minneapolis/Saint Paul
  • Nashville
  • New Orleans
  • New York City
  • Norfolk
  • Oklahoma City
  • Omaha
  • Orlando/Daytona Beach/Melbourne
  • Paducah
  • Philadelphia
  • Pheonix
  • Pittsburg
  • Portland
  • Portland-Auburn
  • Providence
  • Raleigh
  • Roanoke
  • Rochester
  • Sacramento
  • Salt Lake City
  • San Antonio
  • San Francisco
  • Savannah
  • Seattle
  • Shreveport
  • South Bend
  • Spokane
  • Springfield
  • St. Louis
  • Tampa
  • Toledo
  • Tulsa
  • Tuscon
  • Waco
  • Washington, DC
  • West Palm Beach