clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Watch the Democratic FCC commissioners deliver fiery dissenting statements on net neutrality repeal

As expected, the FCC voted today to roll back net neutrality protections, a fateful decision that will shape the future of the internet.

The vote passed the five-commissioner agency on a 3-2 party-line vote. But the two commissioners who dissented — Democrats Mignon Clyburn and Jessica Rosenworcel, who helped pass net neutrality rules in 2015 — used their opportunity before the vote to deliver statements sharply critical of the FCC’s proposal.

Calling the repeal vote an abdication of responsibility, the statements from Clyburn and Rosenworcel also took aim at the process itself. As Clyburn accused the agency of failing to listen to Americans’ concerns, Rosenworcel went so far as to call the entire process “corrupted.” Both commissioners have also released the text of their statements in full.