clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Samsung Galaxy S8 event: start time, live blog, and where to stream

New, 18 comments

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The Galaxy S8 is poised to be one of the biggest phones of 2017, and today Samsung will be giving us our first look at what its vision for the future of smartphones will be. (Or rather, our first official look, at any rate, given the plethora of leaks that have come out about the new phones.

The S8 — which is expected to come in two sizes, the 5.7-inch S8 and the 6.2-inch S8 Plus, — will offer a radical new design for the flagship line of smartphones by minimizing the bezels around the display for a seamless look. As part of that change, Samsung is killing the capacitive buttons that have long graced the front of the device, switching those functions over to software controls and moving the fingerprint sensor of the back of the phone.

Samsung is also expected to premiere its new Bixby virtual assistant with the S8. Today’s event should finally let us see Bixby and action, and give us a better idea of how it differs from Cortana, Siri, Alexa, or Google’s Assistant software.

And while the S8 will probably be the star of the show, there might be a few new accessories to go along with it, including a rumored DeX dock to turn your S8 into a desktop computer, and a new Gear 360 camera. And of course, Samsung could always have a surprise or two still hidden up its sleeve.

We’ll know for sure in just a few hours when Samsung’s event starts. And of course, The Verge will be on the ground in New York to cover all the action. Here’s how you can follow along:

Where to watch

Starting time: San Francisco: 8AM / New York: 11AM / London: 4PM / Berlin 5PM / Moscow: 6PM / Beijing: 11PM / Tokyo: 12AM (March 30th) / Sydney 2AM (March 30th)

Live blog: Tune into The Verge's live blog for up-to-the-second updates, commentary, and pictures directly from the venue

Live stream: Samsung's live stream is available on Samsung’s website or the company’s YouTube page. You can also follow along through a special Unpacked 2017 app (iOS / Android)

Live tweeting: Follow @Verge on Twitter for the latest headlines and specs as they emerge