A new update to Google Photos will now let you archive photos from the main feed and hide them away, helping you declutter and privatize some personal photos. First spotted by 9to5Google, all you have to do is hold the photo(s) and hit the “...” menu on the right side to bring up the archive option. Later, when you want to revisit those photos, you can find them on the left side menu under a separate folder.
While it might not seem as buzzworthy as, say, Instagram’s implementation of it on a user profile, it is great if you share a library with a significant other or family members and don’t want certain images just floating about in the main feed. You can also archive away repetitive photos, screenshots, or whatever you might not want to see while scrolling through the gallery. And let’s not forget what it’s truly useful for: relocating, ahem, private images you don’t want others to see when you hand them your phone to show them a picture. (We all have those friends who keep swiping a little too far back.)
The update is out now for version 2.15 of Google Photos on Android — the feature should be coming soon to the web and iOS.