clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Nintendo teases new Switch ‘interactive experience’ announcement for today

New, 33 comments

Tune in at 5PM ET today

Nintendo Switch
Photo by James Bareham / The Verge

Nintendo announced a number of new titles for the Switch last week, and now it’s ready to launch something entirely new. A teaser has appeared on Nintendo’s UK site hinting at a “new interactive experience for Nintendo Switch that’s specifically crafted for kids and those who are kids at heart.” Nintendo says “tune in” later today, so it’s presumably some type of live stream announcement.

Eurogamer speculates that it could be a new Switch accessory, and that Nintendo is looking to entice more people to purchase a Switch as the console enters its second year on the market. “In order to be playable in the long term, the second year is crucial,” Nintendo president Tatsumi Kimishima told newspaper Mainichi recently. “Our task is to add more users, including people who barely touch game consoles.”

Nintendo has sold 10 million Switch consoles since its debut in March, and the company predicts it will reach 14 million sales within its first year. If the Switch hits 14 million in its first year this will beat the lifetime sales of the previous Nintendo Wii U which sold 13.6 million units over five years. Nintendo will be making its surprise announcement at 5PM ET / 2PM PT / 10PM GMT, so stay tuned to The Verge for more information on the Switch’s mysterious new interactive experience.