clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

You could be fined and jailed for drunk droning in New Jersey

New, 1 comment
DJI Mavic Pro
DJI Mavic Pro
Thomas Ricker / The Verge

Drunk droning is apparently a thing, and one that’s officially illegal in the state of New Jersey. Gov. Chris Christie signed the bill into law on his last day in office this past Monday, banning the use of drones while under the influence of alcohol, narcotics, or other hallucinogenics. The new regulations follow similar thresholds as the state’s drunk driving laws, which prohibit drivers from operating a vehicle when their blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher. The law also bans people from flying drones to surveil a prison, interfere with first responders, or in pursuit of wildlife. Violators could face up to six months in prison plus a $1,000 fine.

New Jersey is the first state that has officially banned drunk droning, but at least 38 states are considering similar restrictions this year, reports Reuters. In 2017, 17 states have passed drone-related regulations, as the CTA estimates that drone sales could reach 3.7 million units in 2018 — a 20 percent increase over last year.

Drone accidents are still relatively minimal in the US, though the risks increase as consumers are buying more drones than ever. Last year, a drone struck a small passenger plane in Canada, and a man was jailed for 30 days after flying his drone into a civilian at a parade, knocking her unconscious.