clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A free anthology collects stories from 2017’s new sci-fi and fantasy writers

New, 2 comments

300,000 words from the next generation of sci-fi authors

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Image: Jake Kerr

Each year, the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer honors a new writer in the science fiction and fantasy field: an author who has professionally published a short story or novel in the past two years. Last year, Too Like The Lightning author Ada Palmer took home the award.

Last year, author Jake Kerr compiled The Event Horizon 2017 anthology, a massive two-volume, 400,000 word ebook which collected stories from 75 authors. This year’s anthology contains 59 stories, and like last year’s edition, it’s free for the taking in ePub, MOBI, or PDF formats, while you can pick up a print edition for $15 on Amazon. Both editions will only be available through July 15th, 2018.

Image: Jake Kerr

In his introduction to the book, Kerr notes that each author was permitted to submit a single work, in an effort to make the anthology a slightly less overwhelming read. Despite that, it still tops out at just under 300,000 words.

The winner of this year’s John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer will be named at this year’s 76th World Science Fiction Convention, which will be held in San Jose, California between August 16th and 20th.