Skip to main content

Guillermo del Toro is making a horror series for Netflix

Guillermo del Toro is making a horror series for Netflix


The Oscar-winning filmmaker’s 10 After Midnight will be the first horror anthology for the streaming service

Share this story

Day 2 - Malaga Film Festival 2018
Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images

A horror anthology series by Guillermo del Toro, the Oscar-winning filmmaker behind The Shape of Water, Pan’s Labyrinth, Hellboy, Pacific Rim and some incisive design critiques about UFOs, is on its way to Netflix. Titled Guillermo del Toro Presents 10 After Midnight, it will feature horror tales selected by del Toro, who will also write and direct some episodes. The series is the first horror anthology for Netflix.

According to Deadline, del Toro will be teaming up with his Shape of Water co-producer J. Miles Dale, and will “hand pick a team of top horror writers and new filmmakers to bring his selection of stories to life.” del Toro, who is also working on a Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark movie for CBS films, previously created the Emmy-winning fantasy series Trollhunters for Netflix with Dreamworks Animation; its final season premieres on May 25th.