clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Queen Elizabeth will deliver her Christmas Day message via Alexa this year, if you ask

New, 8 comments

You don’t need to live in the UK

Queen Elizabeth II Delivers Her Christmas Speech Photo by John Stillwell - WPA Pool/Getty Images

“Alexa, play the Queen’s Christmas Day message” will soon be a thing — even if you don’t live in the UK. Starting December 25th at 3PM GMT (or 10AM ET, 7AM PT), that phrase will deliver the Queen’s traditional Christmas Day broadcast, according to The Guardian.

If you’re curious what the Queen’s message might contain, you can check out transcripts of all her previous Christmas Broadcasts (going back to 1952!) at The Royal Household’s website. No doubt this one will spend some time on the COVID-19 pandemic, whose latest variant is currently forcing London to impose its harshest lockdown yet, but perhaps it’ll be a bit of an escape from the harsh reality, too.

Amazon seems to think it might be: “After a challenging year, millions of people from across the Commonwealth will be eagerly awaiting Her Majesty the Queen’s message on Christmas Day. By creating this world-first innovation, just as we did in 2012 with the release of the Queen’s Christmas speech on Kindle, we hope that even more people will be able to enjoy the uplifting words of Her Majesty,” reads a statement from Eric King, director of Amazon Alexa Europe.