clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Walmart will have PS5 and Xbox Series X restocks available on March 4th [UPDATE: Sold Out]

All four next-gen consoles will be restocked

If you buy something from a Verge link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Photo by Vjeran Pavic / The Verge

Update March 5th, 2021 10:40AM ET: Walmart has sold out of stock on all four next-gen consoles.

Both the Sony PS5 and Microsoft Xbox Series X / S gaming consoles will be back in stock at Walmart later today. A Walmart spokesperson told The Verge that the retailer will have the consoles available for purchase again at 11:30AM PT / 2:30PM ET for the Xbox Series X / S and 12PM PT / 3PM ET for the PS5. As usual, stock will likely not last very long.

Walmart plans to have inventory for the PS5, the PS5 Digital Edition, Xbox Series X, and Xbox Series S gaming consoles, with prices ranging from $300 to $500 depending on the model you purchase.

If you plan to buy a PS5 console, there are a few additional items you should pick up to get the most out of your new console. I recommend picking up a second DualSense controller, which is necessary for any in-person multiplayer action. I suggest that early adopters also subscribe to PlayStation Plus, which gives you a few perks, such as access to the PlayStation Plus Collection.

No option to expand PS5’s SSD, but it is likely coming later this year.

If you are buying either an Xbox Series X or Series S, an additional controller is likely a good purchase. And unlike the PS5, you can purchase a 1TB SSD expansion to add to the Xbox’s base storage (512GB on the Series S, 1TB on the X), though it is not cheap. If you are having trouble deciding on what games to buy, you can always buy a subscription to Xbox Game Pass Ultimate, which gives you access to a slew of digital games and access to Xbox Live Gold.