Facebook Messenger gets an unsend feature

Image: Facebook

Facebook has come out with a feature that lets you delete messages from a conversation after you’ve sent them, as previously spotted in leaks. So in case you send the wrong message to the wrong person or make an egregious typo, you’ll be able to remove it in Messenger now.

It works when you tap on the message you want to delete within 10 minutes of sending it. Two options will appear: Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. Selecting Remove for Everyone replaces your message with text that the message has been removed by you.

It’s similar to the power that CEO Mark Zuckerberg infamously has to delete messages he’s sent, as we first found out last April, after multiple sources noted that messages they received from the CEO had mysteriously disappeared. When questioned, Facebook confirmed Zuckerberg’s messages expired over time, citing increased security measures after the 2014 Sony Pictures email hacks.

After people found out that Zuckerberg (and, presumably, other executives) could delete messages but the average user couldn’t, they called out Facebook for providing preferential treatment to higher-ups. On the same day, Facebook announced that it would build an “unsend” feature for all users within the next few months and limit Zuckerberg’s ability to use it until everyone got the same power. (Those “few months” turned out to be nine.)

Facebook tells The Verge that the new feature will be available today on the latest versions of Messenger for iOS and Android. The company says the new ability is based on the Zuckerberg power, but it underwent “some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger.”

Comments

’bout time. Instagram has had this for a while, and Whatsapp in a similar fashion too.

hope they get a reply to message function soon too like almost every other messaging app out there….

Now only Facebook will know you sent the message, assuring that it will be safe until someone offers money for all your unsent messages.

I highly doubt that Zuckerberg’s version ever had or even now has the "This message has been removed" warning.

Oh yea, you get 10 minutes to change your mind, but Zuckerberg can do it any time he wants. I agree with the other comment here, Zuckerberg’s doesn’t come with a "this message has been removed" warning. If Mr. Zuckerberg feels he has reasons to delete messages from 2 hrs, 2 days, 2 months, etc ago, doesn’t he think we might have reasons, too? He needs some competition and needs to be stopped from buying all his competition up! Facebook = Love/Hate relationship.

View All Comments
Back to top ↑